Directors & Senior Management

Petra is headed by an effective Board, with the appropriate balance of skills, independence and knowledge of the Company to properly discharge its responsibilities and duties

Board of Directors


Adonis Pouroulis Non-Executive Chairman Committees: Nomination Committee (Chairman)

Mr. Pouroulis leads the Board of Directors and works with the Executive Directors on strategy and other matters. He graduated from the University of Witswatersrand, South Africa, with a degree in mining engineering. He is a mining entrepreneur whose expertise lies in the discovery and exploration of natural resources across Africa, including diamonds, precious/base metals, coal and oil and gas, and bringing these assets into production. Mr Pouroulis founded the Company in 1997 and it became the first diamond company to float on AIM. He has since chaired the Company as it has developed into a mid-tier diamond producer of global significance and London’s largest quoted diamond mining group. Mr. Pouroulis is a non-executive director of Chariot Oil & Gas plc.

Johan Dippenaar Chief Executive Committees: HSSE Committee (Chairman)

Mr. Dippenaar leads the management of the Company, implements the agreed strategy and runs the business on a day-to-day basis. He is a Chartered Accountant with the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants. Mr. Dippenaar has over 25 years’ experience in the leadership and management of diamond mining companies. Prior to his appointment as CEO of the Company, he was CEO of ASX quoted Crown Diamonds which merged with the Company in 2005. Since the merger, Mr. Dippenaar has led the Company through a period of significant growth, taking the Company’s annual production from approximately 175,000 carats in FY 2006 to 3.7 million carats in FY 2016, and establishing the Company as a leading independent producer.

Jim Davidson Technical Director Committees: None

Mr. Davidson leads the technical management team and is responsible for the direction and implementation of the Company’s technical and exploration programmes. He is a geologist and a member of the Geological Society of South Africa and registered with the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions. He is an acknowledged world authority on kimberlite geology and exploration, as well as an expert on the optimal recovery of diamonds through plant processes and other automated methods. He has spent over 40 years associated with diamond exploration and mining, of which over 25 years have included mine management in South Africa, and was formerly head of diamond exploration in southern Africa for BP Minerals (subsequently Rio Tinto) before co-founding Crown Diamonds.

Tony Lowrie Senior Independent Non-Executive Director Committees: Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, Nomination Committee

Mr. Lowrie received a Royal Commission from the Sandhurst Military Academy. He has over 36 years’ association with the equities business and is an experienced non-executive director. He has had a lengthy and distinguished career, which included senior positions with the Hoare Govett group and HG Asia Securities. Between 1996 and 2004 he was chairman for ABN AMRO Asia Securities and was formerly lso a managing director of ABN AMRO Bank. He has been a non-executive director of Allied Gold Mining Plc, Dragon Oil plc, J. D. Wetherspoon plc, as well as several quoted Asian closed end funds. He is a director of the Edinburgh Dragon Fund and a non-executive director of Kenmare Resources plc.

Dr Pat Bartlett Independent Non-Executive Director Committees: Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, Nomination Committee

Dr. Bartlett is a member of the South African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy and a registered Professional Natural Scientist. He was formerly chief geologist for De Beers until his retirement in 2003 and is an acknowledged leading expert on kimberlite geology and block caving. Dr Bartlett has extensive experience working across southern Africa and has an in-depth knowledge of several of the mines acquired by the Company, having previously worked at Finsch, Koffiefontein, Kimberley Underground and Cullinan. Since retiring from De Beers, he has consulted on block caving projects for BHP Billiton, Anglo American and Rio Tinto. He is a director of the board of trustees of the De Beers Benefit Society and the De Beers Pension Fund.

Gordon Hamilton Independent Non-Executive Director Committees: Audit Committee (Chairman), Remuneration Committee (Chairman), Nomination Committee

Mr. Hamilton is an FCA qualified chartered accountant with ICAEW. He retired from Deloitte & Touche LLP in 2006 after more than 30 years as a partner primarily responsible for multinational and FTSE 350 company audits, mainly in the mining, oil and gas, and aerospace and defence industries, as well as heading the Deloitte South Africa desk in London. He served for nine years until 2011 as a member of the U.K. Financial Reporting Review Panel. Mr. Hamilton has extensive experience as a non-executive director across a wide range of businesses. He is non-executive director of Nedbank Private Wealth Limited and other related companies within the Nedbank Group, and Atrium Underwriting Group Limited, a Lloyd’s of London insurance underwriter.

Octavia Matloa Independent Non-Executive Director Committees: Audit Committee

Mrs Matloa is a chartered accountant who completed her articles with PwC in South Africa in 2000 before joining the Department of Public Transport, Roads and Works, first as deputy chief financial officer, followed by chief director management accountant. Since this time, Mrs Matloa has founded a number of businesses, including Tsidkenu Chartered Accountants Inc and Mukundi Mining Resources. She brings broad business, financial and auditing experience to the Board.

Senior Management


Jacques Breytenbach Chief Financial Officer

Jacques BreytenbachMr. Breytenbach assumed the role of Chief Financial Officer in June 2016. He leads the financial management of the Company and is responsible for financing, treasury, financial controls, reporting, legal, investor relations, compliance and corporate governance. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Breytenbach has held the role of Finance Manager – Operations at the Company since 2006, with responsibility for financial management across the Group’s operations. He joined Petra from Anglo Platinum, where he held various roles, culminating in his position as Finance Manager – Capital Projects, with oversight for Anglo Platinum’s extensive capital expansion programmes. He is a Chartered Accountant and a member of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Koos Visser Chief Operating Officer

Koos VisserMr. Visser assumed the role of Chief Operating Officer in June 2016. Mr. Visser joined Petra in 2005 as Group Operations Manager with responsibility for managing all Group operations, including production and the roll-out of the Group’s expansion plans, with a focus on plant design and operational efficiency improvements. Prior to joining Petra, he gained broad industry experience working for Impala Platinum in a number of roles, culminating in his position as Utilities and Technical Services Manager. Mr. Visser holds a Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Degree from the University of Potchefstroom in South Africa and is a Registered Engineer GCC.

company secretary

Company Secretary
JTC Management Limited
Elizabeth House
9 Castle Street
St. Helier
Jersey, JE2 3RT
Tel: +44 1534 700 000

Assistant Company Secretary
Codan Services Limited
2 Church Street
Hamilton, HM11
Tel: +1 441 295 5950