• Bookmark

Directors and Company Secretary

Adonis PouroulisNon-Executive Chairman
Committees: Nomination Committee (Chairman)

Mr Pouroulis is a mining entrepreneur whose expertise lies in the discovery and exploration of natural resources across Africa, including diamonds, precious/base metals, coal and oil and gas, and bringing these assets into production. Mr Pouroulis founded Petra Diamonds in 1997 and it became the first diamond company to float on AiM. He has since chaired Petra as it has developed into a mid-tier diamond producer of global significance and London’s largest quoted diamond mining group.

Johan DippenaarCEO
Committees: HSSE Committee (Chairman)

Mr Dippenaar has over 20 years’ experience in the leadership and management of diamond mining companies. Prior to his appointment as CEO of Petra, he was CEO of ASX quoted Crown Diamonds which merged with Petra in 2005. Since the merger, Mr Dippenaar has led Petra through a period of significant growth, taking the Company’s annual production from circa 175,000 carats in FY 2006 to 3.1 million carats in FY 2014, and establishing the Company as a leading independent producer.

David AberyFinance Director
Committees: None

Mr Abery has over 17 years’ experience as a chief financial officer in both the South African and UK business environments. He has been integral to the structuring and delivery of strategic group corporate development and acquisitions at Petra, as well as the instigation of a number of innovative financing transactions. Mr Abery is responsible for all matters pertaining to Petra’s UK listing.

Jim DavidsonTechnical Director
Committees: None

Mr Davidson is an acknowledged world authority on kimberlite geology and exploration, as well as an expert on the optimal recovery of diamonds through plant processes and other automated methods. He has spent in excess of 30 years associated with diamond exploration and mining, of which over 20 years have included mine management in South Africa, and was formerly head of diamond exploration in southern Africa for BP Minerals (subsequently Rio Tinto) before joining Crown Diamonds.

Tony LowrieSenior Independent Non-Executive Director
Committees: Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, Nomination Committee

Mr Lowrie has over 35 years’ association with the equities business and is an experienced non-executive director. He has had a lengthy and distinguished career, which included senior positions with the Hoare Govett group and HG Asia Securities. Between 1996 and 2004 he was chairman for ABN AMRO Asia Securities and was formerly also a managing director of ABN AMRO Bank. He has been a non-executive director of Allied Gold Mining Plc, Dragon Oil plc, J. D. Wetherspoon plc, as well as several quoted Asian closed end funds.

Dr Pat BartlettIndependent Non-Executive Director
Committees: Audit Committee; Remuneration Committee; Nomination Committee

Dr Bartlett was formerly a chief geologist for De Beers until his retirement in 2003 and is an acknowledged leading expert on kimberlite geology and block caving. Dr Bartlett has extensive experience working across southern Africa and has an in-depth knowledge of several of the mines acquired by Petra, having previously worked at Finsch, Koffiefontein, Kimberley Underground and Cullinan. Since retiring from De Beers, he has consulted on block caving projects for BHP Billiton, Anglo American and Rio Tinto.

Gordon HamiltonIndependent Non-Executive Director
Committees: Audit Committee (Chairman); Remuneration Committee (Chairman); Nomination Committee

Mr Hamilton retired from Deloitte & Touche LLP in 2006 after more than 30 years as a partner primarily responsible for multinational and FTSE 350 company audits, mainly in the mining, oil and gas and aerospace and defence industries, as well as heading the Deloitte South Africa desk in London. He served for nine years until 2011 as a member of the UK Financial Reporting Review Panel. Mr Hamilton has extensive experience as a non-executive director across a wide range of businesses.

Octavia MatloaIndependent Non-Executive Director
Committees: Audit Committee

Mrs Matloa is a chartered accountant who completed her articles with PwC in South Africa in 2000 before joining the Department of Public Transport, Roads and Works, first as deputy chief financial officer, followed by chief director management accountant. Since this time, Mrs Matloa has founded a number of businesses, including Tsidkenu Chartered Accountants Inc and Mukundi Mining Resources.  She brings broad business, financial and auditing experience to the Board.

Company Secretary
JTC Management Limited
Elizabeth House
9 Castle Street
St. Helier
Jersey, JE2 3RT
Tel: +44 1534 700 000

Assistant Company Secretary
Codan Services Limited
2 Church Street
Hamilton, HM11
Tel: +1 441 295 5950

Top of page ^